The Inheritance Cycle Facts: The Fictional World Of Alagaësia | Kidadl


The Inheritance Cycle Facts: The Fictional World Of Alagaësia

Arts & Crafts
Learn more
Reading & Writing
Learn more
Math & Logic
Learn more
Sports & Active
Learn more
Music & Dance
Learn more
Social & Community
Learn more
Mindful & Reflective
Learn more
Outdoor & Nature
Learn more
Read these Tokyo facts to learn all about the Japanese capital.

'The Inheritance Cycle' is a tetralogy (four series) novel written by a young homeschooled American author, Christopher Paolini.

The four stories are Eragon (2002), Eldest (2005), Brisingr (2008), and Inheritance (2011). The story revolves around a farm boy named Eragon, who, along with a dragon called Saphira, goes on a quest to retaliate against his uncle's death and ultimately defeat the evil king Galbatorix.

Eragon, the first series of the book, tells about a farm boy who finds a dragon egg while hunting in a mountain. When it hatches out, it's blue, and he calls him Saphira, and later becomes a Dragon Rider. The book was published in August 2003 by Paolini's parent's publishing company. After graduating high school at age fifteen, Paolini started writing the book Eragon.

After high school, he also enrolled at Reed College in Portland, Oregon, but he chose to tour across the country to promote his book. He even dressed in a medieval costume (a red shirt, black cap, billowy black pants, and lace-up boots) and visited over 135 schools and libraries to promote his book Eragon. Interestingly, author Carl Haissen's son found an Eragon book in a bookstore and asked his father to show it to his publisher, Knopf. After that, Knopf offered Paolini to publish his next series of books.

Main Characters

The main characters narrated by the author in the series of books are mentioned below. The author derived most of the names from German, Old English, Old Norse, and Russian sources. Also, some characters are imaginary, and others are added as needed.

Eragon: A farm boy and son of Brom. Also, the first Dragon Rider.

Saphira: A sapphire blue female dragon of Eragon.

Brom: Father of Eragon and storyteller of Carvahall.

Arya: Elf Queen and escorts Eragon on all his missions.

Galbatorix: The evil dictator of Alagaesia for over 100 years and a strong Dragon Rider with his black dragon, Shruikan.

Durza: Galbatorix's mentor and commander of Urgal tribes.

Orik: The new king of the dwarves.

Oromis: Second mentor of Eragon and an ancient elf Dragon Rider.

Nasuada: Leader of the Varden, daughter of Ajidah, and High Queen of Alagaesia.

Morzan: First, last and loyal Forsworn.

Language, Geography & Inhabitants

The story is plotted on a mythical continent named Alagaesia (a name invented by the author). It has a wide range of mountains, guarding forests, deserts, rivers, cities, towns, and homes to several races and tribes.

The western part of the Alagaesia continent comprised the evil king Galbatorix empire. The inhabitants who populated the continent were humans, elves, Urgals, dwarves, dragons, werewolves, and werecats or weredogs. And all these inhabitants spoke different languages that each race had its own as humans (also dragons) spoke the ancient language, dwarves spoke dwarvish, Urgals spoke guttural, Ra'zac used hisses, clicks, and rattles, and werecats spoke like other cats.

Eragon's Guide To Alagaësia

Published in November 2009, 'Eragon's Guide To Alagaesia' is a complementary book to 'The Inheritance Cycle.' The book was illustrated by David Wyatt, Larry MacDougall, Ian Miller, and Fred Gambino, and it sold over 1 million copies in 2019.

This book contains collective information about the settings, objects, and characters referred to in the series of books and provides clues to the ending of Paolini's fourth book-Inheritance. This book also features fifteen artwork pieces portraying cities and different races of Alagaesia.

'Eldest' book won the Quill Award and the Book of the Year Award in 2006.


The series of books was a commercial success, with the first two books topping several bestselling charts. However, it also received some criticism.

The first book Eragon was adapted into a film in 2006. However, due to dissimilarities between the book and the movie, it received negative reviews. Also, it got accused of plagiarism as it had similarities with Lord of the Ring's aura, names, and plots from Star Wars.


Why is it called The Inheritance Cycle?

It is called 'The Inheritance Cycle' because the story revolves around the dragon rider Eragon and Saphira, who takes up the responsibilities of their parent's generation.

How popular is The Inheritance Cycle?

'The Inheritance Cycle' book was so popular that it sold over 35 million copies worldwide.

How does The Inheritance Cycle end?

'The Inheritance Cycle' ends with Eragon and Arya sailing away, two dragons flying overhead, while Roran yells at his loss. Then, Arya flew off with her dragon.

What happens in the Inheritance series?

The series narrates about a 15-year-old farm boy named Eragon who finds a dragon egg while hunting on Spine. When the dragon egg hatches out, he takes the responsibilities of Dragon Riders and starts with an expedition to kill Ra'Zac (to avenge his uncle's death) and ultimately defeat the evil dictator who ruled Alagaesia.

Who wrote The Inheritance Cycle?

The author of Inheritance Cycle is Christopher Paolini.

What is Eragon's true name?

His true name is Hiro Gary-Stu.

How many pages are in The Inheritance Cycle?

'The Inheritance Cycle' book has 880 pages.

How much money did The Inheritance Cycle make?

The Inheritance Cycle grossed around $249 million.

Written By
Joan Agie

<p>With 3+ years of research and content writing experience across several niches, especially on education, technology, and business topics. Joan holds a Bachelor’s degree in Human Anatomy from the Federal University of Technology, Akure, Nigeria, and has worked as a researcher and writer for organizations across Nigeria, the US, the UK, and Germany. Joan enjoys meditation, watching movies, and learning new languages in her free time.</p>

Read The Disclaimer

Was this article helpful?