The No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency Facts: Things You Shouldn't Miss | Kidadl


The No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency Facts: Things You Shouldn't Miss

Arts & Crafts
Learn more
Reading & Writing
Learn more
Math & Logic
Learn more
Sports & Active
Learn more
Music & Dance
Learn more
Social & Community
Learn more
Mindful & Reflective
Learn more
Outdoor & Nature
Learn more
Read these Tokyo facts to learn all about the Japanese capital.

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency is a book series written by Alexander McCall Smith.

Precious Ramotswe is the protagonist of this detective fiction novels, as she tries to solve several mysteries throughout the books. The novels are set in Botswana, southern Africa.

The first novel from the Detective Agency book series was published in 1998, and a series of subsequent books were released until 2021. The publication total goes up to 22 novels to date. In the narrative, Botswana is often given a central role.

Precious Ramotswe has an innate curiosity to know about people's lives and wants to solve their problems by using her detective skills. Each novel explores the adventurous journey of Ramotswe and other multitudinous characters. The series continues in the next book from where it was left off in the previous book.


The main character of the book is Mma Precious Ramotswe, who hails from Botswana. Her complete story is narrated in the first book. Mma is used as a term of respect for women in Setswana (a Bantu-speaking ethnic group native to southern Africa), and the equivalent term for men is Rra. This is a favored and popular term used across all these books.

The protagonist of the series, Ramotswe, establishes her own detective agency by using the funds of inheritance from her father. Ramotswe then moves to the capital city, Gaborone, where she purchases a house and sets up her office to culminate her new business. Ramotswe proudly becomes the first female private investigator in Botswana.

Mma Grace Makutsi is the second major character. Initially, she was Ramotswe's secretary, then her partner, and finally, she became Ramotswe's loyal associate as the book progressed. Mr. JLB Matekoni is the third major character, who becomes Ramotswe's good husband. He owns Tlokweng Road Speedy Motors and is also a mechanic.

Some of the other secondary personas who revolve around the private detective books are Obed Ramotswe (Ramotswe's dad), Charlie (a helper working under Matekoni but later joins Ramotswe's business), Fanwell (a young helper who becomes a mechanic), Mr. Polopetsi (assistant), Phuti Radiphuti (Grace Makutsi's fiancé), Dr. Moffat, Mma Silvia Potokwane (dame of the Orphan Farm), and Motholeli and Puso (adopted kids of Ramotswe and Matekoni).


These stories by Alexander McCall Smith pirouettes around various places and cities of Botswana, including Gaborone,  Mochudi, Molepolole, and Francistown. The story takes frequent turns into personal lives of Ramotswe and other characters in books.

Some books in this series are 'Blue Shoes And Happiness', 'In The Company Of Cheerful Ladies', 'Morality For Beautiful Girls', 'Tea Time For The Traditionally Built', 'Tears Of The Giraffe', 'The Full Cupboard Of Life', 'The Kalahari Typing School For Men', 'The Miracle At Speedy Motors', and 'The Double Comfort Safari Club'.

A detective searches for clues to chase a con artist in this book series.

Inspiration And Development

Alexander McCall Smith, the creator of the detective agency series, is a former University of Edinburgh medical law professor. Alexander McCall Smith was born in 1948, in Southern Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe) to British parents.

Alexander McCall Smith, in Bulawayo, attended Christian Brothers College and then moved to Scotland. He studied law at the University Of Edinburgh, earning an LLB and Ph.D. He moved back to southern Africa in 1981 and assisted in establishing a legal school and lecturing at the University Of Botswana. He collaborated on 'The Criminal Law Of Botswana'.

Alexander McCall Smith is a prolific novelist, and he has several series to his name. He produces an enormous volume of work. He started writing after 2005 and became a full-time writer.

Reviews, Reception, And Adaptations

Alexander McCall Smith, the owner of this charming series, has received awards and is lauded for his best-selling international books. The books in English editions have been sold over 20 million copies.

Before the Detective Agency, Smith had published 30 books. These books have been adapted into television shows. In 2008, a two-hour pilot was aired, followed by a six-part series based on the first ten books of this series. There's also been a radio version of the story.

This charming series has often been considered to provide good humor by its critical reception. The enigmatic adventure it showcases as it takes the reader through the journey of personal life and understanding received much appreciation. The themes of feminism, emotional intelligence, moral philosophy, virtue ethics, and mechanics are touched upon.

The series has inspired a cookbook, which was released in 2009. The book is called 'Mma Ramotswe's Cookbook' written by Stuart Brown. Alexander McCall Smith provides the foreword for this book.

Alexander McCall Smith has been honored with the Crime Writers Association Dagger in the Library Award and the Author of the Year Award at the British Book Awards. He received them for the Detective Agency series.


What is the main plot of The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series?

A: This series explores the story of Precious Ramotswe, who has a thoughtful and inquisitive nature. She is drawn to her detection profession because she wants to help people with their problems.

How old is Precious Ramotswe?

A: In the first novel, Ramotswe is 22 years old. As the series progresses, so does her age.

What genre is The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series?

A: The genre of this book series is crime fiction. It also artfully sprinkles good humor and teaches values.

Who is Obed Ramotswe?

A: Obed Ramotswe is the father of Precious Ramotswe. He was a miner in his earlier days and is an owner of cattle herds.

How many books are in the series of The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series?

A: Until 2021, there have been a total of 22 books in this series.

When is the next The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency book coming out?

A: These books are annually published. For the current year, no date of announcement has been released yet.

How many episodes of The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency are there?

A: There are seven episodes available of the adapted detective series.

Who played the music from The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency?

A: Gabriel Yared played the music in the adapted drama series.

How many chapters are in The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency?

A: There are 22 chapters in this detective agency novel series.

What insight does The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency books offer?

A: This book series explores certain valuable aspects of liberation from societal norms as it deliberately splinters the socio-economic conditions that halt women's growth. It focuses on feminism, ethics, morality, social and religious themes, philosophy, and craftmanship in contemporary Africa.


Written By
Joan Agie

<p>With 3+ years of research and content writing experience across several niches, especially on education, technology, and business topics. Joan holds a Bachelor’s degree in Human Anatomy from the Federal University of Technology, Akure, Nigeria, and has worked as a researcher and writer for organizations across Nigeria, the US, the UK, and Germany. Joan enjoys meditation, watching movies, and learning new languages in her free time.</p>

Read The Disclaimer

Was this article helpful?