The University College London logo.

University College London

Consistently noted as one of the best universities in the UK and top universities in the world, University College London (UCL) is situated in the Bloomsbury area in the heart of London. UCL was founded on 11 February 1826 by a group of leading intellectuals, including James Mill and Henry Brougham, as an alternative to Cambridge and Oxford, the only two universities present in England at the time. The university was the first to be established in London, under the name of London University. The aim of the university was to open up education for students of any religion or race for the first time in England. The university was also the first to accept women to study on equal terms to men.

An iconic example of English architecture, the main building of UCL on Gower Street was designed by architect William Wilkins, who also designed the National Gallery in 1831, and construction started in 1827.

The multidisciplinary university in London now employs more than 11,000 staff and has over 39,000 students from 150 different countries. Established in 1827 as part of UCL, the Grant Museum of Zoology is the last remaining university zoological museum in London and one of the UK’s oldest natural history collections. Open to members of the public, the museum has approximately 68,000 zoological specimens. Part of UCL Culture, The Petrie Museum, UCL Art Museum, Bloomsbury Theatre & Studio and The Octagon also bring the arts, culture and specialised sciences to a broader audience.  

Image © University College London.