Whales: 21 Facts You Won't Believe! | Kidadl


Whales: 21 Facts You Won't Believe!

Arts & Crafts
Learn more
Reading & Writing
Learn more
Math & Logic
Learn more
Sports & Active
Learn more
Music & Dance
Learn more
Social & Community
Learn more
Mindful & Reflective
Learn more
Outdoor & Nature
Learn more
Read these Tokyo facts to learn all about the Japanese capital.

Whales are astonishing mammals and are found in all of our world's oceans. Even though whales are purely aquatic they breathe air and are warm-blooded animals like humans. Whale's bodies are adapted to survive in icy waters and enable them to go deep underwater. Whales have a thick layer of fat tissue called blubber which acts as insulation from the cold.

Whales can be broadly classified into two categories. These categories are baleen whales and toothed whales. Baleen whales have baleens instead of teeth. Baleen plates are bristle-like plates made of keratin. Baleen Plates filter water out but retain larger food. Baleen plates in some whales can be as large as 16.4 ft (5 m). Whales like the humpback whales, gray whales, blue whales, bowhead whales, North Atlantic right whales, etc fall under this baleen whales category. The other category of whales is the toothed whales. As the name suggests they have teeth. Common toothed whales are killer whales, beluga whales, sperm whales.

All of these different species of whales have different habitats and breeding grounds and rituals and food habits. Whales, dolphins, and porpoises belong to the order called Cetartiodactyla.

Although whales are found in all the oceans, single or a group of whales or school of whales, they prefer waters of the colder Northern and Southern hemispheres. They migrate towards the Equator during gestation where their favorite feeding grounds reside. Whales such as humpback whales and blue whales are known to travel thousands of miles without even feeding. Whales in the southern hemisphere migrate upwards and whales in the northern hemisphere migrate downwards.

You may also check out leopard seal facts and fennec fox facts from Kidadl.

Whales: 21 Facts You Won't Believe!

What do they prey on?

Krill, plankton, fish, smaller aquatic mammals

What do they eat?


Average litter size?


How much do they weigh?

297-418878 lb (134.7-190,000 kg)

How long are they?

80-100 ft (24.4-30.5 m)

How tall are they?

8.5-102 ft (2.6 -31.1 m)

What do they look like?

Gray, blue, black, white

Skin Type


What were their main threats?


What is their conservation status?


Where you'll find them?

Oceans, Sea


All The World’s Oceans




Dependent on the species





Written By
Team Kidadl

The Kidadl Team is made up of people from different walks of life, from different families and backgrounds, each with unique experiences and nuggets of wisdom to share with you. From lino cutting to surfing to children’s mental health, their hobbies and interests range far and wide. They are passionate about turning your everyday moments into memories and bringing you inspiring ideas to have fun with your family.

Read The Disclaimer

Was this article helpful?