Game Of Thrones Dragon Names: The Ultimate Dragon Guide | Kidadl


Game Of Thrones Dragon Names: The Ultimate Dragon Guide

Arts & Crafts
Learn more
Reading & Writing
Learn more
Math & Logic
Learn more
Sports & Active
Learn more
Music & Dance
Learn more
Social & Community
Learn more
Mindful & Reflective
Learn more
Outdoor & Nature
Learn more
Read these Tokyo facts to learn all about the Japanese capital.

Why Game Of Thrones Dragon Names?

Dragons are mythical creatures in the 'Game of Thrones' world capable of breathing fire with the command of 'Dracarys', the High Valyrian word for 'Dragonfire'. While their origins are unknown, connections between dragons and humans were first established by the Valyrians in Essos. As a result, the Valyrian civilization prospered for ages until the Doom of Valyria. However, they went extinct for a few years and made a return when all three of Daenerys Targaryen's dragon eggs hatched. These names will help the GOT fan inside you to get to know about the various 'Game of Thrones' dragons as well as help you name your dragon characters.

The Original Three Dragons

These were the dragons that existed during the conquest of Westeros by House Targaryen.

1. Balerion The Black Dread: Named after an ancient Valyrian god, Balerion is the biggest and the greatest dragon ever to live. Aegon I was his first rider, followed by Maegor, Aerea, and Viserys I Targaryen. He died due to old age.

2. Meraxes: Also named after an old Valyrian god, Queen Rhaenys rode this dragon. Both the rider and the dragon was killed during the First Dornish War.

3. Vhagar: The youngest of the three original dragons, Vhagar was killed during Dance of the Dragons. She was initially ridden by Queen Visenya, followed by Baelon Targaryen, Laena Velaryon, and Aemond Targaryen.

The New Three Dragons

Queen Daenerys Targaryen hatched her dragon eggs on the funeral pyre of her Dothraki husband, Khal Drogo. They were named Drogon, Rhaegal, and Viserion and were the only 'Game of Throne' dragons.

4. Drogon: Named after Drogo, Drogon was the personal mount of Daenerys and THE dragon in 'Game of Thrones'. The biggest of the original three, Drogon helped his rider win many wars both in the book and in the TV show. After Daenerys' death in 'Game of Thrones', Drogon was reported to be flying east over the continent of Essos. Tyrion Lannister had a memorable encounter with Drogon.

5. Rhaegal: Named after Prince Rhaegar Targaryen, the elder brother of Daenerys. In 'Game of Thrones', Rhaegal was killed with a scorpion bow by Euron Greyjoy. Jon Snow, who was revealed as Rhaegar's son and the nephew of Daenerys, also rode the dragon in the last season of the TV show.

6. Viserion: Named after Daenerys' other brother Viserys, Viserion was killed by the Night King in front of Daenerys during season 7. The Night King subsequently revived and rode him, with Viserion becoming a part of the White Walkers' army. He finally died when Arya Stark killed the Night King.

The Other Dragons

The relationship between Dragons and riders are of paramount importance.

Although other older dragons in 'Game of Thrones' have been mentioned, 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series by Gorge R.R. Martin offers more insight into them.

7. Arrax: The personal mount of Prince Lucerys Velaryon of Driftmark. Both were killed by Vhagar during Dance of the Dragons.

8. Cannibal: This wild dragon was never ridden and would eat other dragon carcasses and eggs.

9. Caraxes The Blood Wyrm: Prince Aemon and Daemon Targaryen's red dragon who killed and was killed by Vhagar.

10. Dreamfyre: A she-dragon ridden by Rhaena and Helaena Targaryen.

11. Grey Ghost: Another wild and untamed dragon killed by Sunfyre.

12. Meleys The Red Queen: Princess Alyssa's and then Princess Rhaenys Targaryen's personal mount was killed during Dance of the Dragons.

13. Moondancer: Baela Targaryen's she-dragon, who perished.

14. Morghul: This dragon, bound to Princess Jaehaera, was killed by an angry mob.

15. Morning: Lady Rhaena Targaryen's dragon was born during the Dance of the Dragons.

16. Quicksilver: This dragon with pale white fireballs was King Aenys I and later his son, Prince Aegon Targaryen's mount.

17. Seasmoke: Laenor Velaryon's dragon, who later bonded with Addam Velaryon, also met his death.

18. Sheepstealer: A wild dragon from Dragonstone who was tamed by a bastard girl named Nettles. 

19. Shrykos: Young prince Jaehaerys Targaryen's was called this.

20. Silverwing: Queen Alysanne Targaryen's she-dragon was later mounted by a bastard boy named Ulf.

21. Stormcloud: This young dragon was ridden only once by Aegon the Younger and died.

22. Sunfyre the Golden: King Aegon II Targaryen's majestic dragon died due to wounds sustained in the battle against Moondancer.

23. Syrax: Rhaenyra Targaryen's she-dragon was named after an old Valyrian god. 

24. Tessarion The Blue Queen: Daeron Targaryen's personal mount was a beautiful blue she-dragon.

25. Terrax: The legendary dragon of Valyrian explorer Jaenara Belaerys, who spent three years exploring the continent of Sothoryos.

26. Tyraxes: Prince Joffrey Velaryon's young dragon was killed .

27. Urrax: A mythical dragon of Westeros supposedly killed by Serwyn of the Mirror Shield.

28. Vermax: Prince Jacaerys Velaryon's dragon had the same fate as the dragon of his brother, Prince Joffrey Velaryon.

29. Vermithor The Bronze Fury: King Jaehaerys I Targaryen's fearsome dragon later bonded with Hugh the Hammer. Vermithor.

Dragons From "House Of The Dragons"

30. Syrax: After Daemon swipes an egg from King’s Landing, Rhaenyra uses Syrax to confront her uncle and his dragon on the bridge at Dragonstone.

31. Caraxes: He once was the mount of Prince Aemon Targaryen, son of Jaeherys and uncle to both Daemon and Viserys I, but later became Daemon’s mount by the year 105 AC.

32. Balerion the Black Dread: He was one of the last dragons to be born in Valyria and survived the Doom. He became the mount of Viserys I when he got old and weakened.

33. Seasmoke: He is seen in the War between the Stepstones carrying Ser Laenor on his back.

34. Dreamfyre: Daemon admits to stealing one of Dreamfyre's eggs. So if one of Dreamfyre’s eggs exists, that must mean Dreamfyre herself exists. However, later we learn that Daemon's story is fabricated.

35. Vhagar: It is the sister of Balerion the Black Dread and is considered the only still-living dragon to have arrived in Westeros with Aegon the Conqueror.

35. Meleys: Rhaenys arrives at her wedding to Corlys Velaryon on Meleys’s back.

36. Vermax: He is an adolescent dragon who attempts to eat his master.

37. Sunfyre: King Aegon II mentions Sunfyre as the most beautiful dragon ever seen in the known world.

38. Arrax: He is Luke's own dragon whom he rides to Storm’s End.

39. Moondancer: He is the mount of Lady Baela Targaryen who is Laena Velaryon and Daemon Targaryen’s daughter.

40. Tyraxes: Daemon mentions Tyraxes while listing all the dragons the blacks have at their disposal.

41. Vermithor: He is an older beast who was once the mount of King Jaeherys I Targaryen.

42. Silverwing: It was previously the mount of Alysanne Targaryen.

43. Wild Dragons: Daemon mentions about three wild dragons nesting in Dragonstone.

You might also like

Game Of Thrones trivia

GOT team names

Jaqen H'ghar quotes

Rajnandini is an art lover and enthusiastically likes to spread her knowledge. With a Master of Arts in English, she has worked as a private tutor and, in the past few years, has moved into content writing for companies such as Writer's Zone. Trilingual Rajnandini has also published work in a supplement for 'The Telegraph', and had her poetry shortlisted in Poems4Peace, an international project. Outside work, her interests include music, movies, travel, philanthropy, writing her blog, and reading. She is fond of classic British literature.

Read The Disclaimer

Was this article helpful?